2 years ago, Marcus and I welcomed this sweet little guy into our family.

Our first photo together.

Our first photo together.

I used to say that he was the best thing we’ve ever done, but I can’t do that now that he has a sibling 🙂  BUT, I will still maintain that having kids is the best, most exhausting, and without a doubt rewarding thing I will ever do.

diaper

4 months

Elijah is such a blessing to us.  He is so sweet, smart, fun, and active, and I just continue to enjoy watching this amazing little person develop before my very eyes. I feel so fortunate to be his momma.

16 months.

16 months.

To see his face light up when he figures something out, to hear him laugh at something he loves, to listen to him read stories to his stuffed animals, and talk to his “lovies” –which he calls “lubbies” (break.my.heart) before he settles into sleep each night.

13 months

13 months

To hear him say, after bedtime prayers, “nigh nigh, see you ‘morrow.”  To meet his many requests for stories about a variety of characters and activities.  So blessed.

reading

4 months

He still loves to count.  He also loves to read books, play with letters, play peek-a-boo in all forms, and be thrown in the air, hung upside down, spun around, you name it.  Selfishly, I love the extra opportunities for cuddles that reading books allows.

grandma

With Great Grandma Wade, 6 months

Though not much of a cuddler, he is very friendly and affectionate.  He gives hugs readily and sincerely.  He is excited when we see people he knows.  He’s quite the flirt with anyone who will humor him 😉  He’s very logical and reasonable, in a 2 year old way.  His face looks serious much of the time, but he will break into a megawatt smile at the drop of a hat.

10 months

10 months

grad

My MNA graduation, 15 months

Eli was born on a Friday, and as the nursery rhyme goes, “Friday’s child is loving and giving.”  Don’t get me wrong, he’s a toddler and he has his moments, but this kid likes to share.  With everyone from his family to children he’s just met on the playground or at the library.  It warms my heart to see what I think are the beginnings of a generous nature.

elidaddy

With Daddy, 13 months.

I adore hearing his voice calling me if he is looking for me in the house.  I don’t think he said “mama” (or much of anything, really) regularly until last August, so it’s music to my ears.  Although he was a little late, once he started talking, it was leaps and bounds.  I know his pronunciation is not the most clear to people who don’t know him, but I’ve been amazed at the range and depth of his vocabulary, as he’s really only been talking for 6 months or so.  Lots of words, including articles, prepositions, and multiple verb tenses allow an increasingly complex sentence structure.  It’s amazing just to watch language develop from the ground floor.

Eli's baptism, 6.5 months.

Eli’s baptism, 6.5 months.

I love hearing new ways he’s come up with to express a thought, and I’ve been touched by the occasions on which he’s expressed empathy for his little sister before he was even 2 years old.  Despite my best attempts, there is clearly (and understandably) some jealousy there, but I think he’s already shaping up to be a good big brother.

Holding Jordan's paci, 22 months.

Holding Jordan’s paci, 22 months.

My boy, my sweet angel, my first born…Thank you for making me a momma.  I wouldn’t trade it for all the late nights, sleeping in, and pre-baby body features in the world.  I love you!

9 months

9 months

