Two months go by so fast with a newborn.  Much like how I felt I after welcoming Eli to the family, I feel, in a way, as if we’ve always had Jordan.  I know it sounds strange.  Believe me, life is different with two.  Things are a lot different than they were 2 months ago, but it just kind of feels like she was always meant to be a part of our family.

Merry Christmas from the Wades! 12/25/2012...Jordan's due date.

Merry Christmas from the Wades! 12/25/2012…Jordan’s due date.

She’s a smiley, happy little girl.  She’s very social, and wants to be a part of the action.  She just loves to look around.  At times, she has this soul-penetrating stare that I never saw in Eli when he was a newborn.  Even when she was brand new and very sleepy, she would look at us with a very direct gaze for an extended period.  The term “old soul” has taken on a whole new meaning for me.  It’s seriously like she’s been here before or something.  Then, just when you think the tiny creature somehow knows all your secrets, she’ll bust out one of these:

sleepysmile.jpgand seems like a totally normal baby.  She was smiling before we left the hospital, and had me convinced of a social smile in under a month.  What a treat!  She smiles a lot, but it’s hard to catch it on camera.  I mostly just try to soak them in in person.

Christmas dressShe’s pretty laid back about most things.  This is her Christmas dress.  She was precious in it, but the glitter was unfortunate.  It did NOT shed in the store, or I would not have purchased it.  But it did shed on her and she had glitter bits stuck in her neck rolls for a week.  I promised her I would not put her in a ridiculous dress again until she requests it.  I had my baby doll moment, and it’s been soft cotton jammies ever since.

One distinct difference I noticed between her and her brother: a certain ambivalence.  I don’t know if it’s a male/female thing, or just a two different babies thing, but she’s much harder to read.  When Eli was hungry, upset, tired, or overstimulated, I felt like I had a very good read on his cues at two weeks.  With her, sometimes I’m not sure what she’s telling me at two months.  I’m not sure if she knows!  She’s more like, “oh well, yes, I guess I could eat….okay.  If you insist….on second thought, I’ll just smile at you and then stare into your soul.”  It’s awesome, but it’s definitely different.

DSC_1654

She’s also MUCH more cuddly, which is wonderful.  I’m guessing she’s going to be very friendly and social.  She’s just very interested in other people and what they are doing.  Physically, Jordan is pretty strong, I think.  She can raise her head and shoulders up off the floor and wiggle around a fair amount.  She will turn herself 90 degrees in the crib when she’s on her back.  She’s just much more mobile than I remember E being at this age.  We think she’s a pretty awesome little girl.  Okay, on to the picture progression:

1 week

1 week

1 month

1 month

2 months

2 months

2 months

2 months

Isn’t it amazing how fast they grow?

